top of page
  • Writer's pictureSUTV News

Five Midstate Counties Going Green Next Week

Graphic Courtesy: Lehigh Valley Live (Counties in light green enter Green Phase on June 12.)

By: Megan Talley

After 2 weeks of being in the Yellow Phase of mitigation in PA, Governor Wolf announced today Cumberland, York, Adams, Juniata and Mifflin will be five of the 12 counties to move into the Green Phase at 12:01 a.m. on June 12. Other counties include Beaver, Carbon, Columbia, Northumberland, Union, Wayne and Wyoming.

Under the Green Phase, gatherings can be increased up to 250 and restaurants, bars, gyms, movie theaters and shopping centers can operate at 50% capacity. Personal care facilities like hair salons, nail salons and barber shops can also operate at 50% capacity, but must be by appointment only.

Telecommuting and working-from-home is still encouraged even under the Green Phase, and schools can start doing in-person operations on July 1st as told by the Department of Education. Both Governor Wolf and Dr. Levine describe this phase as the start of a “new normal.”

Shipppensburg University President, Laurie Carter, announced in an email on May 29 that a decision about the fate of the Fall 2020 semester will be decided on or around June 15.

56 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page